Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Mexican Upright Basses

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by sonic bass, Jul 31, 2004.

1. sonic bass

sonic bass

Jul 12, 2004
    I live in Mexico and here they are selling some very cheap upright basses, they are very easy to play, but the strings are made of some kind of plastic or silicon, but it looks like a very good bass and it's very easy to play, i've played other upright basses that are much harder to play and are more expensive... I've been playing bass guitar for 4 years, and now I want to move to upright and join the high school orchestra, is this a good bass to start? has anyone else played on one of this?

2. elgranluis

elgranluis

Feb 14, 2003
    El paso, TX
    how cheap is cheap exactly, and where excatly are they selling them?

3. sonic bass

sonic bass

Jul 12, 2004
    they are selling them at $200 dollars or $2300 pesos, and it includes a bag, they are selling them at most music stores (here in Mexico).

4. elgranluis

elgranluis

Feb 14, 2003
    El paso, TX
    since even the cheapest mexican guitars (jom, 3 pinos, etc) are hand made in a guitar shop, it is probably a lot better than whats available on ebay for 3 times as much. say, would you happen to have a phone number for those stores?

5. sonic bass

sonic bass

Jul 12, 2004
    sure, they sell them at www.durc.com.mx, in their store in Monterrey, I've been told they are made in Michoacan, and they are called "tololoche" they are a little different than upright basses, for example they are smaller, they use plastic strings (someone told me that it cannot use normal strings because it could damage some parts of the bass) also I was told it doesn't sound very good with a bow, they are used on norteña, marchiachi, jazz bands.

Where are yoou from?

6. elgranluis

elgranluis

Feb 14, 2003
    El paso, TX