1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

MIA P-Bass issues...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by TheNightLife, Oct 20, 2009.

1. hey guys i have an 08 mia p-bass that has been giving me issues lately. the first issue was the nut, the e string wouldnt sit tight in the nut so the e string would vibrate between the nut and tunning peg cause a clanky clashing sound when playing the e string open. so i went to gc to have the tech take a look at it and he wound up replacing the nut. yea cool everything was good up until now that i just changed my strings (which are the same gauge as the previous ones) and now my a string is doing it. please tell me im not the only one with this issue.

the guitar tech told me i dont know how to properly wind my strings the last time. ive been playing bass for 11 years, i know exactly what im doing.

2. PBass101

PBass101

Jul 3, 2008
    Illinois
    Take and post a pic of your headstock.

3. i cant at the moment unfortunately im about to go out. but i will when i get back, probably in 2-3 hours. this is the most annoying thing. lol. this is the first time i changed the strings with this nut on it. it looks like my stock nut did. gc is not going to like me tomorrow morning cause i have rehersal tomorrow and then im not going to be around lol

4. Holy War

Holy War

Sep 18, 2008
    VA Beach
    +1 for a pic

get it looking down at the headstock so you can read the logo and see the nut, and take a horitonal shot where you can see the windings and the top of the tuners

5. sleepytime

sleepytime

Nov 10, 2007
    Chicago, IL
    How many turns do you have on the E and A pegs? More turns (lower on peg) will put more down force across the nut and should resolve the problem.

6. fourstringburn

fourstringburn

Jun 30, 2009
    New Mexico