Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Mic 100 watt tube amp or buy a louder amp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jbird, Dec 20, 2005.

1. jbird

jbird

Jun 10, 2004
    Southern California
    I have an Ampeg B15R all tube 100 watt amp (re-issue). it's got a nice sweet tube sound, but I may join a hard-driving alt/rock band with a loud drummer & guitarist and I'm not sure if 100 watts will cut it. Will I be fine with this amp just by mikeing it or running a cable out the back to the PA or would I be better off buying a new Mesa Big Block 750 with a Powerhouse 1000 cab?
    I'm new to playing bass so any insight & thoughts from you vets, that will help with my decision are much appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Jbird

2. chaosMK

chaosMK

May 26, 2005
    Albuquerque, NM
    Hi-fi into an old tube amp
    Are you kidding? Get the Big Block and the Powerhouse if you can afford it. I played through an M-Pulse 600 and a Powerhouse 1000 a few years ago and couldnt imagine anything sounding or thundering much better.

3. Plain Old Me

Plain Old Me

Dec 14, 2004
    Maybe an Ampeg tube head? Not a new one, but an older SVT-II or vintage one. Or if you want to go Mesa, the 400+ is all tube. If wight is an issue, then you are on the dot for a good lightweight (in comparison to a tube amp) powerful amp.

4. Depends on your PA in my opinion, If you're digging the sound you got, then sticking with it is an obvious good move, but if your PA is of poor quality then your sound may get changed by running through it.

I personally play in a band with a loud guitarist and drummer, though the drummer isn't mic'ed, and I find that I can rather easily keep up with both of them with only my 100 watt tube amp at 8 ohms, it's cranked, but I get that sweet tube breakup!

Then again, it can never hurt to try out louder amps if you got the money to spend on one!