1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Micro heads and fan noise in quiet settings

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by djwatts, Jan 28, 2017.

1. djwatts

djwatts

Apr 3, 2012
    Bend, OR
    Hey Everyone,

I'm currently playing in a kirtan band, which always contains a quiet setting, where after a song people will sit quietly with their eyes closed and in silence. I've been using a GK MB Fusion for the last six years through an Epifani UL112 and UL110. I love the sound of this rig, but the fan noise on the GK (due to it having a 3 tube preamp) is fairly loud in a room full of quiet people. So, does anyone have experience with the new EICH amps or other high end micro heads and have noticed them being either very quiet or loud from the fan or lack thereof? What are your favorites?

Thanks,

David

2. bassbooty

bassbooty -Rey Supporting Member

Jul 4, 2006
    Utah
    The dual fans in my Eich designed TecAmp Puma 900 are whisper quiet. I have no experience with Thomas Eich's new amps, but I'm willing to bet the fans are similarly quiet.

3. djwatts

djwatts

Apr 3, 2012
    Bend, OR
    That's great to know. Thanks, I'm hoping to get to the EICH distributor in Hesperia, CA in a couple weeks to check them out.

4. dBerriff

dBerriff

Oct 2, 2004
    Oakham, UK
    The Tecamp Pumas do not have fans in the 500 W and below models. I have a Tecamp Puma 500 and I can verify that it is fan-less and physically silent. Not even any transformer hum that I have noticed. I presume the Eich amps are the same.

I have never had any overheating problems and it is usually left on all day for practice or rehearsal work. I have never pushed the amp that hard I admit. Swing band rehearsals need no more than 10 - 11 o'clock on the master volume.

5. Dave W

Dave W Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2007