1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Micro heads Ashdown - Aguilar

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by carldogs, Apr 3, 2013.

1. I have no experience with micro heads but am looking to get one, two that are available here are the Ashdown MIbass 550 and Aguilar Tone Hammer 500.
    I would value any opinions on either, the Ashdown seems to have more features in the EQ section, but I'm more interested in a good natural tone and reliability. I play finger style with five and sometimes four string basses.
    I'm in a standard rock cover band, two guitars drums and bass, also from time to time I do theater work, the cabs I would be playing through could be 1x12 for monitoring or 2x12, I also have two 15in cabs. I don't own a 4x10 but I would appreciate any cab suggestions that work well with either of the two heads.

Many thanks
    Carl.

2. Tonegasm

Tonegasm

Mar 22, 2010
    NJ
    I have a friend who works for an ex-Ashdown distributor. He informed me that Ashdown had a ~50% return rate due to failure. Not sure if and how they addressed this - just relaying the info.

I can personally speak for Aguilar's performance and quality. I own a Tonehammer 500 head, two DB112NT's, and a GS410 and love them all. Really great sounding and tough products. Not to mention that their headquarters is in NYC and support is easy to reach and get if needed.

I can't say enough good things about Aguilar. You won't be disappointed.

3. Thanks so much for the reply I really like the Aguilar.

4. KJung

KJung Supporting Member

I've been very happy with my Aguilar TH500. Lots of power, nice fat 'rock' voice, very reliable, lightweight. The tone controls are quite interactive, so it takes a little bit of time to get used to the relationship between the gain, drive and midrange controls.