Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Midrange, yes or no?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Bigfeet, Aug 1, 2001.

1. Love

116 vote(s)
    54.0%
  2. Nuetral

77 vote(s)
    35.8%
  3. Hate

22 vote(s)
    10.2%
  1. I keep hearing many bassplayers love the Mids, others hate em'. IMO I'm not a big fan, I don't use that much mid in my signal but I don't exactly kill them either.

2. CaracasBass

CaracasBass

Jun 16, 2001
    Madrid, Spain
    When I started playing bass I used to kill all the midrange sound in my amp, and used the "smile EQ", you know what I mean....... few years ago when I started playing in my actual band and after many gigs and some demo recordings I realized that you can´t throw away midrange....... if you want your soung to have a real presence in a mix you need some mids.
    I´d read many times that adding some mids in the 800 Hz range you can get the presence in your sound enough to pass thru a wall off distorted guitars...... and tell ya, it works. How much??? it´s up to you, your needs, style, etc etc etc etc

3. I play entirely flat. Tone comes from the bass itself, and the amp is there to reproduce whatever comes out of the bass.

My RB5 runs in either vintage J mode (both pups dimed, tone dimed, both switches at single coil mode) or occasionally in phake P mode (bridge pup, tone all the way down, switches in series humbucker mode.

4. sunnking

sunnking

Jul 13, 2001
    mids are where its at. if you just have the highs and the lows you arent moving the air with the real punch. now dont go just mids. but if you want thick presence than work the mids.