Might buy a guit*r, should I?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Figjam, Apr 9, 2004.

1. Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Im questioning buying a guitar on ebay. I dont have much money at all. Im looking at getting a guitar for pretty cheap ($75 max).. Its a guitar from the 80's and im not gonna mention what kind yet, for fear of a Tber snatching it from me :p It sold for around $200-$250 i think back in the late 80's Its a decent guitar... not great but all i need. The reason i would buy it is for songwriting purposes only. Im not very good at guitar but occasionally i think of an awesome riff and bang out a song from it. Usually i have a Squier for this reason but the owner (i been borrowing it) wants it back. Im questioning whether or not its worth spending the little money i have on a guitar. Or should i screw it and just keep my 75 bucks for strings or something.
  2. JPJ

Apr 21, 2001
    Chicago, IL
    Without offering advice as to whether you should spend your $75 on this particular guitar (can't 'cause we don't know what it is! :D ), I've always felt that becoming competent at other instruments will make you a better bass player and overall musician. Knowing how to play the drums, guitar, keyboard, mandolin, banjo, woodwinds, horns, etc. will not only give you a broader musican bass from which you can draw inspiration, but it will also make you understand how your bass parts fit with and interact with all of the other players you're playing with.
  3. Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    I agree. I play drums dayly now and i tihnk it helps my timing on bass. (they arent my drums, they are my drummers/friends but they live at my house so why not play them?) and i play guitar occasionally, its quite different than bass but its not too bad. I cant solo or anything, but im decent at bar chords and such.
  4. Against Will

Against Will Supporting Member

Dec 10, 2003
    Big Sound Central