Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Mighty Mite necks?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by thrash_jazz, Mar 4, 2002.

1. thrash_jazz

thrash_jazz

Jan 11, 2002
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Artist: JAF Basses, Circle K Strings
    Hi folks,

Wondering if anyone knew anything about Mighty Mite necks. I have a building project on the go and they're all I can find in town so far. Since this is my first project, I'm a bit leery about spending several hundred bucks on a WD or Warmoth neck; however, I was wondering if Mighty Mites were okay and not too bad.

2. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    I do know that MM is one of the few places that is licensed by Fender to build replacement necks. I have never used their necks, but I have used pots and pickguards and such from there and been happy with the quality and service.

Chas

3. I don't understand your trepidation with Warmoth necks - a neck similiar to a Mighty Mite will only run $150 - $170. That's not "several hundred". Besides that, Warmoth is also licensed as a Fender replacement. Another clear difference is that with a Warmoth, you can have your choice of frets and finish but you can't with a Mighty Mite.

IMO Warmoth's quality and construction is far superior to Fender's stock neck or Mighty Mite's offering. Since you are looking to upgrade, why use a replacement instead of something of higher quality?

4. thrash_jazz

thrash_jazz

Jan 11, 2002
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    I guess someone's been fibbing to me - buddy down at the music store told me that a WD would be around 300, and a Warmoth could be 500 and up.
    Thanks for the REAL info...