1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

mike pope mpp-1 with fender mb1200 poweramp help.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jazzcrime, Apr 28, 2009.

1. hi guys,
    ordered both of these - in the process of waiting! got the fender mb1200 at a real cheap price new so i jumped on it. this is my first time going down the pre + power road. i was just wondering what kind of cable i will have to get to connect the two? i'm a little confused about whether a regular patch cable will do or if i need a speaker cable or what.
    here's some info on the mpp-1:
    http://michaelpopedesign.com/scrolls/product_mpp1rear.html

and the user manual for the fender mb1200:
    http://www.fender.com/support/manuals/pdfs/manuals_elec/basspdf/MB 1200_069124a.pdf

thanks for your help!

2. jastacey

jastacey Supporting Member

Feb 8, 2009
    Houston,Tx
    The hook-up is simple, you can use one of 3 types of cables 1. a plain instrument cable with one black ring on the 1/4" plug .... 2. a TRS cable with 2 black rings on the 1/4 " plug ....3. a mike cable XLR Male fittings on both ends ...keep the cables short. the best connection is the XLR, then the TRS, as both types will be the quietest ..the XLR with the male fittings may be kinda hard to find ...I don't really know, as I build all my cable/patch cords that power amp is a good one, as it is most likely the same power section as the Fender Bassman Pro 1200.Sunn 1200s

3. I have several preamps and use either a standard, (high quality), instrument patch cable or an XLR to join the preamp to poweramp... Both the MPP-1 and Fender have both 1/4 and XLR output,inputs respectively...

I favour the XLR jus because it locks into position...

4. thepontif

thepontif

Apr 24, 2004