Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

miles davis bassline...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by sethdavidson, Mar 11, 2002.

1. sethdavidson

sethdavidson

Mar 11, 2002
    Hi, my name is seth, and I'm new to talkbass. I was wondering if anyone had the bassline to the first few choruses(spelling? I dunno) "straight, no chaser" transcribed that could help me out with it. I'm in sortof a pinch as to learning it fast here, and it would take me like a week to transcibe it with my poor ears. if somebody could help me out I'd really, really appreciate it.

Seth

2. beermonkey

beermonkey

Sep 26, 2001
    Seattle, WA
    I don't know why I'm answering this... but here it goes.

1. Which version?!? Without even looking at my Miles section of the CD collection, I'd guess that there are probably over 10 released versions of Miles performing this song.

2. It's just walking changes. You don't learn a jazz tune by memorizing the bassline of another player. Learning/transcribing a bassline by a great player is a very good thing to do when building your own skills... but just memorizing or TaBiNg out a line to perform it note for note is just uncalled for.

If you really want to learn how to play "Straight No Chaser" (or any jazz tune for that matter), I would highly suggest finding a good teacher, finding instructional books, and/or utilizing online resources that will teach you to walk changes.

3. ldiezman

ldiezman

Jul 11, 2001
    Nashville