Milestones: Walking the Plank

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Chris Fitzgerald, Feb 18, 2002.

1. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    On Saturday, Feb 9th, I played my last gig with the society band I've been playing Plank in for the past 10 years. For a while there the income from that band was a major source of rent money for me and mine, but in the past few years I've been getting more and more jazz/original music work, and the band started to become icing rather than cake. Over the past 2 years, I've played at least 100 DB gigs in addition to stuff with the band, and I finally decided that for the sake of my musical sanity, it was time to move on. Last night, I hung both my fretted and fretless Slabs on the wall of my home office, where I am in the process of creating a WALL OF DUES which will include items relating to stuff I had to do to survive but am now finished with (I also just paid off both of my student loans this past month, and the final statements of both are gonna get framed and go up on that very same wall). I'm tempted to frame my tux as well, but that might be premature.....

Man, this feels great! I always knew this day would come, but I didn't dare dwell on it until it was possible. Anyway, I have ordered a Ken Smith 6 string Plank to use for doubling in my original group (and for any really high paying Slab gigs that may occasionally come my way), and am looking forward to that, but it's gonna be almost ALL DB from here on out, and I can safely say (I hope!) that I have played the ELECTRIC SLIDE for the last time. And that's cool.

Anybody else have any stories to share about when/how/why you were able to WALK THE PLANK at some point in your career and really focus on DB thereafter? If it felt as good to you as this feels to me, I just know you'll wanna share. How about it, folks?