Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

mim fender or sx?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Xanadu, Sep 7, 2005.

1. Xanadu

Xanadu

Jul 17, 2005
    hey all

i was hoping for some advice on my next potential buy , im an intermidiate bassist and i think its time ive purchased a better quality bass than my 150 olp lol, i think its holding me back in a way, and im kinda getting bored w/ it to tell you the truth.

ive always loved the sound of a p bass, I play all types of music, and most people would recomend a j because of its versitility, but imo a p just feels better in my hands.

so im trying to decide between a sx that i would heavily mod, new pups, new bridge, tuners, ect. ect. or getting a mim fender than i would probobly mod less, but pay more for up front. personally im liking the sx idea better, but ive never played one , so i cant really tell yet , any advice would help me, and you could also suggest also basses if you want ,im open minded thanks in advance :bassist:

2. Matt H

Matt H

Jul 30, 2005
    Ithaca, NY
    sounds like the SX p/j for 120 and shipping might be a good idea...

unforunately (for you) the neck on them is a jbass neck... (you said the p felt better in your hands...)

however, it's got a p body, so i suppose you could always pick up a pbass neck for it (even one of the SX necks through the rondo site) for a few bucks more...

3. flexo

flexo

May 3, 2005
    Perth, Australia
    Although i havent played an SX, i can't see it being much better than your OLP. I have an OLP and i think its a decent starting bass. There are several ways you could mod the OLP you currently have. In fact it would probably be just as suited to mods as the sx would. It'd probably work out better than selling it, since i've heard resale isn't that great on the OLPs.