MIM Jazz Delux?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by joel the bass player, Dec 1, 2000.

1. I have been thinking about getting a mim jazz delux. I wanted a bass that had some active electronics in it, and that didn't cost too much. I have owned a mim squire jazz, and i thought it played pretty well after a pro tuneup and some new strings, besides the bad pickups. I tried one out, but the neck needed serious adjustments, along with the bridge. Not to mention it was at mars and has been touched by a million people. I might order one from mf again, because I have found that that I like the fact that when I get I will have been the first person to ever touch it. SAince I do have some money I have thought of putting a d-tuner or somtething like that on it and a bad ass 2 bridge, but I dont know if it is worth buying that bass, because I am not very good at tooling on my basses, even though I have done minor work on my pbass. If you have any ideas I would shure like the help.
  2. brianrost

brianrost Gold Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2000
    Boston, Taxachusetts
    OK, what do you want to know?

First, why do you want active electronics? I'm personally no fan of the Fender Jazz active circuit (had an MIA Jazz Deluxe and sold it) but it is better than a lot of imported active setups. I own both active and passive basses and have no real prefernce, I just care if it sounds good and on the active ones I seldom make use of the EQ anyway.

If you bend strings, you should know that the Deluxe pickups have single poles, not double poles like a normal Jazz, so when you bend notes, you can get a volume drop which gets worse the higher you are on the neck.

Second, if your first thought is to upgrade some of the hardware, why not look for a bass that has better hardware on it anyway? I don't understand the idea of buying a new bass and immediately replacing a bunch of the parts.