MIM Jazz power output - how many milliWatts?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Skip, Nov 2, 2001.

1. Skip

Mar 22, 2000
    Bronxville, NY
    I'm buiding a headphone amp and limiter for my MIM Standard Jazz (so I'm completely passive), and I was wondering if anyone knew how many milliWatts runs out of the bass. I'd really like to know the ohms and milliVolts, but I won't push my luck. I just want to make sure I wire in enough gain to the amp.

I don't have a 1/4" plug with bare wires out to test with a multimeter, but I'll have to put one together unless someone here can help.

I appreciate any help, otherwize I'll just wing it.

2. lost_in_space

Nov 16, 2001
    actually i don't really know the impedance@output of jazz pickups, but i've got some experience in effects design & construction, so i thought i could share some insights.

power really doesn't matter as far as pickups are concerned, and here's why:

1. it is totally insignificant, so low it really means nothing = a fraction of a microwatt. passive pickups have a dc resistance which ranges from 15kohm to 2kohms. I think a jazz pickups is approx 7 kohms but frankly i don't remember exactly. their output voltage varies, but for general design purposes i assume output to be 1 V peak to peak.

2. you cannot just say okay RxI²=Power, because we deal with AC and a pickup has a complex impedance (which involves inductive and capacitive capacitance). it has a resonant frequency, which means that power is purely ohmic for a given frequency only, and reactive for all other frequencies, with a I/V phase
    lag that varies according to the frequency. So in order to have the right expression of power you would need to determine watts, frequency, power factor.... tedious to say the least. even the pickup manufacturers don't bother.