1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

MIM P-Bass or Squier with mods?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Acme8, Nov 22, 2018.

1. Acme8

Acme8

Nov 20, 2018
    Hi all

I'm a guitarist wanting to turn bassist, and I'm thinking about my options on getting a bass. I do want a P-bass, but what I'm thinking is should I buy a MIM Player series (PF) Fender for 698€, or would it be a better deal to buy a cheapo Squier Affinity for 213€, and get some modding parts, for example a Seymour Duncan SPB-2 (86€) and a Fender Am. deluxe bass bridge 4 (75€), for a total of 374€? I could even get upgraded tuners while I'm at it,and still end up way cheaper than the MIM. Sure, ordering a cheap instrument online is risky if you end up with an off-individual...

Is there something I'm not getting here?

Zoobiedood likes this.
  2. JGbassman

JGbassman Supporting Member

May 31, 2011
    I prefer the mim basses as they are a better platform in my mind. Not taking away from the Squires, but that's the route I've gone. In fact, my #1 gigging Precision is a '94 MIM I've modded. It just is perfect for what I need.

The new mim p basses are very good from the reports here. If I was in the market for a new p bass, that would be my first stop.

3. JGbassman

JGbassman Supporting Member

May 31, 2011
    As an after thought, if I may suggest some pickups. If you go with the new mim player, the pickups are wonderful from what I've heard, and no reason to change them out.