Mingus Ah Um

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by MaskedJackal, Oct 4, 2005.

1. It's just....profound. The Columbia remaster is wonderful. And those horn arrangements? Hot damn. I'm lovin' the Mingus. How bout you?
  2. I love that record. I also dig Pithecanthropus Erectus. Have you heard that one?
  3. No...I'm just getting into his stuff. I'll be getting more soon, but the Atheist reissues are a monetary priority as of now....

I hear it's good though.
  4. bobyoung53

bobyoung53 Supporting Member

Aug 29, 2004
    Millbury Ma.
    I've had that one for a long time, it was one of the first jazz records I liked and really opened my mind to it. I have a lot of his stuff now and it's all great. Pithecanthropus Erectus is also another really great one.
  5. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA
    All I have is the Ken Burns best of Mingus. Truely amazing. It's strange how the best jazz composers tend to be bassists. ;)
  6. Jimbo

Dec 4, 2000
    Philadelphia, PA
    yep, mingus ah um is a truly great album

7. The Owl

The Owl

Aug 14, 2005
    Atlanta GA
    My absolute FAVORITE Mingus record, period! Ah-Um is pretty darned amazing too, but there's just something about Pithecanthropus Erectus that really spoke to me, and I heard it first when I was but a lad of 6! :eek: I haven't been the same since.
  8. spc

Apr 10, 2004
    South of Boston
    Lovin' the Mingus!
    I dig Tijuana Moods.
  9. Richard Lindsey

Richard Lindsey

Mar 25, 2000
    Metro NYC
    You mean like Ellington, Wayne Shorter, Thelonious Monk, Antonio Carlos Jobim? Those bassists?