Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

minor scales ... ok ... but which one and how ?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by NJXT, Feb 21, 2001.

1. NJXT

NJXT

Jan 9, 2001
    Lyon, FRANCE
    As I have said before, I've played bass several years but I have severe flaws in theory, because I'm 95% self-taught.
    So I have a couple of questions about minor scale(s) :
    1) The song/chord is minor, so , as a bassist, I am supposed to play a minor scale. Ok, but which one : melodic, harmonic, another-"ian"-ending-mode-that-I-don't-know ? How do I find out (without my not-so-good-ears) ?
    I mainly use pentatonic in this case because it's easy and avoids me asking myself this very question. But I would like to use the fullest harmony available.
    2) The melodic minor is different when descending it or ascending it. Ok, I get that.
    But you are not always really descending or ascending a scale, are you ?
    Most of the time I'm "moving" in the scale (I don't know how to express that correctly. Is it clear ?).
    How do you know you got to pick the ascending or descending notes ?

2. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    Maybe someone could help with your questions if you would post the changes to the song you are referring to. It's kind of hard to reply in the abstract.

3. NJXT

NJXT

Jan 9, 2001
    Lyon, FRANCE
    Ok, so it's based on the chord changes of the song(s) ?
    That's already a beginning of an answer, thx.
    Perhaps someone could make an explaination based on an example or give me a link ?

4. Chris Fitzgerald

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    Ok. Supposing your song is in the key of A minor, and the chord sequence goes like this:

Ami.....Cma.....Dmi.....Fma.....Gma.....Ami