Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Mirrors, Eye-closing

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by 4StringFox, Jun 9, 2004.

1. For the past several months I have been a full-time college student with 2 jobs; correspondingly, my bass has been sitting neglected since February. Now that I am home on break with NO job (thanks Bush), I have plenty of time on my hands. So after bringing her flowers, holding her, and promising I'd never leave her again, my bass and I started to practice. I'm still building strength, endurance, flexibility, and calluses back up, so I'm not playing much yet.

Two friends who returned to guitar after long absences recommended playing while watching my hands in a mirror, and playing with my eyes closed.

I'd never heard of those before, so I tried them today. Closing eyes led to better tone but not much other change. Using the mirror, my accuracy and timing were much better, but tone sometimes suffered (when I paid too much attention to what I was watching instead of what I was hearing).

Just curious -- anyone else tried these? Find them useful, useless, stupid, fun? If you have any other tips for a resuscitated bassist, feel free to pass those on by post or IM too :cool:

2. hodgy

hodgy

May 5, 2004
    Bothell, WA
    Tech Support- Ampeg/ Mackie
    I saw a dude play 3 sets last night with his eyes closed almost the whole time. He was totally getting into the groove. Personally, I think it makes for a better show when you don't have to look at the neck when you're playing. Except I can't really keep my eyes closed because there are 6 other idiots jumping around on stage besides myself and I gotta watch out or I'll get knocked over by somebody.
    I do use the mirror thing in my jam room at home, but it's probably because I'm an egomaniacal narcissist and I can't get enough of myself.

3. ironmaidenisgod

ironmaidenisgod

May 20, 2004