1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Mix and “match” pickups?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Ringhammer, Nov 17, 2018.

1. I have a bunch of pickups, due to plenty of trial and error, and I always prefer to have two pickups in any bass I put together, I generally use the same brand and model for both positions, but I have a P-bass bass that came with a DiMarzio (which I have never used before). I’m going to add a P-bass pickup in the bridge position, and since I have a bunch of stock pickups, I’ll probably use one of them.

Now for the question, is it best to make sure that the resistance reading of one pickup is as close as possible to the other?

Are pickups with less resistance “hotter”?

2. Slater

Slater Leave that thing alone. Supporting Member

Apr 17, 2000
    The Great Lakes State
    It depends on your desired results, but if you want similar output or volume from each pickup, then typically you will want the DCR of each pickup to be close to one another.

3. Slater

Slater Leave that thing alone. Supporting Member

Apr 17, 2000
    The Great Lakes State
    Pickups with a higher DC resistance are usually referred to as “hotter”.

4. ctmullins

ctmullins fueled by beer and coconut Gold Supporting Member

Apr 18, 2008
    MS Gulf Coast
    I'm highly opinionated and extremely self-assured
    DC resistance is an extremely rough guide to output. It doesn’t tell near the whole story, but will do in a pinch.