Mix and Match for Solo Eveness

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by dragonetti11, Jul 10, 2005.

1. dragonetti11

Jun 20, 2002
    Hello String Forum
    I am currently set up with original flexocors (since I am an orchestral bassist) and while I like my soloistic sound on the G string (thumb position) the other strings do not seem to have as much punch in thumb position solo playing. I am sure that it is probably a very tough thing to have a nice punchy sound on the A and E strings way up near the end of the fingerboard and I know I will drive myself nuts trying to achieve that. But , are the orig. flexocors the best matched set? Would I find more evenness in mixing in 92s on the D, A & E and keeping the original G? The kind of evenness I am talking about is bassically like this--lets say I play the opening of the Koussevitzky on the G string and then I play it again but this time I start on the D string. What I am looking for is more similarity in sound from a higher string to a lower string. Can anyone reccommend a string? Or do all of you have this same thing going on. I am sure everyone does to some extent.
  2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    I'm not a classical player, so take this with a grain of salt:

For my money, the Thomastik Dominants might be a good try for you. The thing that I noticed right away is that the sound was so even from string to string. Take the first A ont he G string, then the D string, and the octave on the A string and the sound is very similar for all the fingerings. Plus you have nice, heavy strings to give you the volume that you need for section playing. I also liked the sound a lot, and teh bowability is very good as well. I would say that maybe they are a little on the bright side for orchestral playing (maybe?) but I'm pretty sure that you could adjust your touch a bit to get the sound you want.
  3. dragonetti11

Jun 20, 2002