1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Mixing and Layering

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by badboy1984, May 11, 2011.

1. badboy1984

badboy1984

Mar 27, 2007
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

I'm kinda new to recording and mixing etc.

The main instrument I'm using a midi drum which play in toontrack ezdrummer, audio track bass guitar, mic acoustic, electric guitar clean and distort electric guitar.

I'm having so much trouble with distort guitar because I just realise you need to layer the distort guitar and pan them as well to get a good distort sound without being too muddy or thin in the mix etc.

Was wondering what else do I need layering and pan? Only the distort guitar need layering?

2. For a basic rock band setup its only gtr's and vocals that are layered, the rest is just single.

However, you should be able to get a good gtr sound without layering, if its too thin then you are using the wrong gtr, amp, settings or whatever. Moving mics and such plays the biggest part in this stuff. If its too muddy, move the mic back, towards the edge of the speaker, take down the bass on the amp and if that doesn't work filter out the low end on the gtr track in your DAW (up to anywhere between 150-400Hz or wherever sounds good.)

Once you have a killer gtr sound then layering can increase the spatial depth nicely but bear in mind you may need to use a different gtr or amp or mic for each layer, unless you are after the thinner slightly phasey sound you get by layering two identical setups. Hard panning will help too.

For any kind of doubling the performances have to be extra spot on, as any innacurcy will quickly make the whole thing sound like a thin mess!