Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

MM Sting Ray 5 bliss!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by OrioN_2k, Dec 20, 2001.

1. My local Music shop FINALLY got in a MM SR 5 w/Piezo. OMG the sound of this bass was so damn cool! I had fun with the piezo. Turned it down and had a tight punchy sound. Crank it and the low tones were so warm it was undescribable. I think I found my baby. Yeah I know I just started learning bass, but I never gave up on anything that I start so this thing is mine!! Besides, I'm doing better than I thought I would.

Thoughts?

2. Well, MM5er's do appear to rule quite a bit from most testimony.. and I played one in a GC, it was really nice :D I suppose you can't go wrong!

3. ldiezman

ldiezman

Jul 11, 2001
    Nashville
    I love my ray 5... thats all i have to say at this time :)

4. Harpo

Harpo

Feb 1, 2001
    Kings Park NY
    The SR5 rules I had mine for 2 weeks now and I can not put it down .

5. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    I stated my opinion in your other thread...you sound smitten. Go for it!

6. CamMcIntyre

CamMcIntyre

Jun 6, 2000
    USA
    I played one for like 5 minutes while tryin out an amp to see if it could handle a 5 and see how it sounded. I woulda walked out with the bass if i had the money SR5 in sunburst with a white pickguard-the neck [maple board] felt great these are making me get GAS and the fact that the OLPs exist are tempting-i gotta keep on tellin myself YOU NEED AN AMP!!

7. Fuzzbass

Fuzzbass P5 with overdrive Supporting Member

Stingray fives sound incredible. I would own one if the string spacing was just a smidge wider. I apologize for incessantly complaining about this, but it's really frustrating that EB/MM doesn't offer a wide 5 option. Thank you for allowing me to vent. I'm done now.