Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

MM Stingray 4- 2band vs. 3band eq?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Jato, Nov 2, 2000.

1. Jato

Jato

Nov 2, 2000
    Hello all,
    My first thread here. I am a born again bassist, after being away for about 20+ years playing lead/rhythm guitar! Dont get me wrong, I still love playing Guitar, but I started in life as a bass player, and found that I still am at heart. My question today concerns my new MM Stingray 4 that is arriving via UPS(!!). It has 2 band eq, and a maple neck. I have played a couple of 2 band, and 3 band, and found the 2 band'ers to be better tonally. Anyone else agree? Opinions?

2. Funkster

Funkster

Apr 6, 2000
    Wormtown, MA
    Welcome aboard Jato
    I have just bought a MusicMan 4 a couple of weeks ago with the three band EQ and I must say that I love the three band, this is my first bass with active electronics and I got to say that I love the mid sweep. I never got to play one with the 2 band but I imagine its killer also I am on the lookout for a pre Ernie Stingray though and I believe that the originals are 2 band EQ and I have played a couple of pre Ernie's and they are the nut's. I say either 2 or 3 band your in for a great playing experiance!

3. Jato

Jato

Nov 2, 2000
    Thanks for your timely reply, Funkster:
    I have a bassist friend who has a pre-ernie 2 band.
    Oh baby please!! Sweet through me eden rig, or his G-K. I'll get some feedback to you, but now I gotta fly outa here to meet the UPS man!

4. hmm, never heard that before.

i have a band Ray, but have played a few 2 bands and never really noticed the difference.

i'll pay attention to that next time i try out some basses.

5. Jato

Jato

Nov 2, 2000
    Well guys,