1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

MM sub 5 vs Lakland 55-01/02... advice?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by plugger, Aug 11, 2007.

1. I'm a guitarist who doesn't know too much about basses (my total bass ownership experience is an old Vantage P-bass copy I bought in the '80s for some demo recording... still has the original '80s brass nut!). OTOH, my 15yo son is getting very serious about his bass playing, and is looking to get a better bass.

He's looking for a 5-string, and I knew this was going to be tricky. Fortunately, he's discovered he gets on very well with a MM sub-5, and this is within budget, so that's a good option. Something else I've been looking at is the Lakland 55-01 (or even the 55-02). This is based on reviews I've read and some impressions gleaned from talking to bassists. Unfortunately, actually getting one to try out is a bit of a challenge (there doesn't appear to be a Lakland distributer in our area).

Anyway, that's my main motive for joining up at this stage: getting your collective wisdom on 5-strings, Laklands vs sub-5s (or whatever). Any thoughts or comments re the MM vs Lakland, or even the 55-01 vs the 55-02 (the 55-02 seems to have more versatility with the MM/J pup configuration), please advise! :D

-Mark

2. Double Agent

Double Agent

Mar 10, 2006
    Lakeland, FL
    Well, for starters, both the 55-01 and 55-02 are very nice instruments. They are also both going for more in the used market than the SUB, with the 55-02 going for a LOT more. So it depends on what he can spend. I think that SUB is an extremely well put together instrument. I don't like the finish on them, but it wouldn't stop me from buying one. Plus its made in USA vs. the Lakland being made in Korea, if that makes a difference to you.