1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

MM vs SUB vs Sterling

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Bard2dbone, Oct 7, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Bard2dbone

Bard2dbone

Aug 4, 2002
    Arlington TX
    How is their general nut width for Stingrays?

I remember back in maybe the mid-bronze age (Okay 1987-ish) playing a Pre-Ernie Ball Stingray and it had a fairly substantial neck. It felt like a P-Bass to me.

Much time passes.

I considered a Sterling, when they first came out as a EBMM model. It struck me as more like a Jazz, with a narrower nut.

Still more time passes.

It occurred to me recently that I don't have one and I kind of want at least one of every bass Leo designed, so I clearly NEED one. But I'm a paramedic. So I'm poor. So I looked at their new budget line. I saw a Ray4 at GC that had a too-nice-to-ignore price on it. So I picked it up and plugged it in. I could barely play it. The neck was tiny. Now admittedly I've been mainly playing Lakland fivers lately, so that may have exaggerated things. but this thing was microscopic. It's way narrower than a regular Jazz bass.

Is this because of the series? Are the MII Ray4's just all that skinny, like a broomstick? Or are they really inconsistent and maybe I just got an awful one?

Basically, for that price I could swap out the cheap electronics for good stuff and have the proper StingRay sound, if not feel. But I'd like to get the feel as well, if possible.

2. JakobT

JakobT

Jan 9, 2014
    Oslo, Norway
    The Ray4 is notable for its skinny neck, its nut width is 38 mm, which is just about the same as a standard Jazz. My advice would be to move up to the Ray34, which has a more substantial 43mm nut width. Or just get a used StingRay, which sits somewhere in the middle at 41,3 mm.

Last edited: Oct 7, 2017