MM4 or Tribute L2K?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jakepaul1, Jul 20, 2004.

1. jakepaul1

Jun 30, 2004
    Okay, I'm looking to purchase my first bass. I'm a guitarist converting over to the 'dark' side :cool: , so I've been trying alot of different models.

For me it's come down to either the Marcus Miller Jazz Bass or the Tribute L2000.

The Tribute is a great value from what I can tell and has great reviews all over - I like it's playablity and variation in tones.

I just played a Marcus Miller today and it wanted me to take it home. It played like a dream and looked great - sounded great too. Of course, I was playing through a Mesa Walkabout Scout.

Anyway, I'm really leaning towards the Marcus Miller. But, I want to hear others input/opinions...

2. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    If the Marcus Miller touches you, get it. I have made several enthusiastic posts about my Tribute L 2500, I think that the Tributes compare very favorably with some high end boutique basses, but if you want the Marcus Miller sound, his Fender signature model is the way to go.
  3. jakepaul1

Jun 30, 2004
    Thanks, Doc. I did like the sound as well, but the feel of the neck is what sold me. It's taking some getting used to switching from a 6-string guitar neck to a bass guitar and the MM4 was smooth...

4. MM4 is the second bass guitar I bought! (the third one is onnthe way!!)
    I'm getting a new bass only because I need a low B :D
    You can be sure of one thing, that the MM4 won't make you disappointed! It plays great, sounds great, looks great and is a very good bass compare to the price you'll pay it!

The only thing that IMHO I have to do is to change the preamp, because the one on it didn't satisfied me at 100%!
    Treble are poor IMO....

So if you fall in love with the MM4, I advice you, if I can allow me to do it, to buy it quick before someone else do it for you!
    You'll have a killer bass.