1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Mod a 51 reissue P bass made in Japan

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by jeniferever, Aug 8, 2007.

1. jeniferever

jeniferever

Aug 8, 2007
    Hi guys.

Alright, here's the story. I'm a 28 years old guitarist, a great friend of mine gave some of his instruments to me since he's leaving town, so that possibly makes me the oldest bass newbie!

I have now in my studio:
    Trace Elliot GP12 SMX head
    SWR Workingman 4004 head
    Trace Elliot 4x10 cab
    Trace Elliot 15'' cab
    51 P bass reissue, made in Japan

I've been playing a bit of bass occasionally in the past 13 years in my band, now thinking of learning the bass with devotion. I might not have the best ears for bass, but here's my thoughts anyway.

-The SWR Workingman sounds CRAP! The 5 band EQ does so tiny. Cannot get a proper recording sound out of it. Harsh and cold.
    -On the other hand the TE head is fantastic. Versatile sound, sounds good looks good.
    -Now I plugged the TE head into the two cabs I have, leaving the SWR alone. Really loud btw

I'm more than happy with the amps, for a, ahem, beginner. I'm just not sure about the bass.

-The bridge is rubbish. Can't set intonation at all.
    -Lack of body in the low/low-mid
    -Nice mids, nice highs, but sounds like a guitar with thick strings imo
    -noisy, nightmare when I try to mic it
    -Hand resting uncomfortably, need a thumb rest?

So I'm on a mission to modify this bass. With a new pickup, new bridge, perhaps a new onboard pre amp? a compressor? a thumb rest or a classic covers that I can rest my hands on?

I do not want this to sound unlike a Fender p bass(I love P bass), just want to make the best use of this axe and record some songs with it. Our band does funk soul, dance, and jams a bit of everything.

Any recommendations? Thanks people :help:

2. chadds

chadds