Mod and Essex or Save more money

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Bassman_Spike, Jun 23, 2003.

1. Hello all

I have a dilemma, i need a new bass. With basses in Australia being so expensive and because i am a student money is hard to come by. Also used equipment isnt around like it is in America.
    In my thinking ive got 2 options

1)Essex Bass: I know they can be found in aus now, and they are apparently very good for the money. So i could get an essex and replace bridge and pickups straight away leaving with a great bass that i will also be able make more my own buy putting on a new pickguard and stuff. This would also be good becuase i would install the pickups and bridge making it more my bass. This is the cheaper option. This will cost about $700

2)Save more pennys to around $1000 and get one of these
    Yamaha BB404 or 604 i think thats what they are
    Rockbass Corvette
    Used MIM P or J

So there is my options at the moment
    What do you all think is the better option or what is a new option i havent thought of?

Also people in melbourne can you tell if there is any music shops that have a good range of used basses...i am 2 hours away from melb
  2. I'd say go for the Essex. You may not even need to mod the bass. I'm quite impressed with my fretless, and I was thinking that I'd have to go and spend $70 (American) for a gold BadAss II bridge...but the stock one is working just fine.
  3. Nick Gann

Nick Gann Talkbass' Tubist in Residence

Mar 24, 2002
    Silver Spring, MD
    I take it you got the SJB62 QMD Fretless, BnS? That's what I got, I love it!

I agree with him Spike. I love my Essex. No need to mod it, in my opinion. It's a great bass all by itself!
  4. If i get the essex i will probalby get the SJB-62 fretted in red...i was thinking latter if i had the money to put a black pickguard and black hardware.
  5. superphat

Sep 30, 2001
    here's my 2 cents...