1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Modded Road Worn P-Bass - is it an upgrade?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by angryzen, Mar 7, 2013.

1. angryzen

angryzen

Mar 7, 2013
    Bass isn't my first instrument, so I'm not that up on technical specs (I'm a drummer, please don't hate! lol), but I have a Fender Road Worn Tele and Strat, and I love them. I decided to add a Road Worn P-Bass to the collection. I bought one used sight unseen from a Guitar Center online and had it shipped to my local store. I didn't even notice till I got home, but the neck has been replaced with a newer (not road worn) US P bass neck with an ebony board instead of the maple one it would have come with. Would this be considered an upgrade? The neck has a serial of US10 so I did the research and it's from 2010 when they used that system for a while. So what would you guys do? Keep it and maybe distress the neck or return it? The neck feels good except for the lacquer on it, so that's why I wanna distress it. Thanks for the help!

edit (I actually think it's rosewood and not ebony)

2. Is the bass the same as it was pictured in the ad from GC online, neck and all? If not, I'd have them send me another one.

3. angryzen

angryzen

Mar 7, 2013
    I'm not sure anymore cause the picture isn't up. I'm wondering if that's why it was only $550.

4. narud

narud Supporting Member

Mar 15, 2001
    santa maria,california
    It said in the description that it had a highway one neck.

5. There you go.

6. i saw that very bass on GC's website last week.
    Looked like a Hwy 1 rosewood

7. angryzen

angryzen

Mar 7, 2013
    Man, I missed that. So would you guys consider it an upgrade? How would it change the sound?

8. Wallace320

Wallace320 Commercial User

Mar 19, 2012
    Milan, Italy