1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Modding Squier P-Bass Special V

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Arctopus, Sep 9, 2008.

1. First and foremost, I apologise for the length of this thread.

I have about $300 (AU) to burn and as that isn't enough for a new bass, not that I need one. I was thinking of modding out my Squier P as it is completely stock and I feel I could a lot more out of it in terms of tone. I was thinking new pups but as I am quite new to the whole bass modding kinda thing I came here for some advice.

Feel free to share your ideas on how I can get the best out of my bass and how I would actually go about installing the changes.

Here's a little personal playing info from me:
    - Into a lot of prog / tech metal and avant-garde stuff, but certainly not limited to it.
    - I like a little bit of growl in the tone but then again, I'm a big fan of the really warm, resonant sound like that of a fretless.
    - Prominently a finger player.
    - Currently playing through a Fender 210/250 Rumble Combo.

Squier by Fender Standard P Bass Special 5 5-String Bass Features:

* 5-string
    * Solid agathis body
    * Standard 5-Saddle bridge
    * Single-Coil Precision Jazz mid pickup
    * Single-Coil Jazz Bass bridge pickup
    * 20 medium jumbo frets
    * 2 volume, 1 tone control
    * Polyurethane finish
    * Rosewood fingerboard, 12" radius
    * Chrome hardware
    * Multi-ply pickguard
    * Standard, 4-over, 1-under open-gear tuners
    * Bolt-on neck joint
    * Maple neck, C-shape
    * 34" scale length
    * Width at nut: 2.008"
    * Knurled chrome dome control knobs
    * Dot inlays

And lastly, a picture.
    [​IMG]

2. skiscem

skiscem Supporting Member

3. skiscem

skiscem Supporting Member

well if you want to mod that one i would suggest Nordstrand pickups or an audere preamp, check on those two...