Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Modding squier pbass

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Jimmy310, Dec 29, 2005.

1. Jimmy310

Jimmy310

Dec 2, 2005
    Torrance, Ca
    Ive been playing bass for about 6 months. So i already have a Olp MM2 and my friends pitched in and got me a Squier Affinity P-bass for xmas. I dont really want it (it just isnt up to par with the OLP) and would rather exchange it for store credit towards a p.a. but i cant really do that. what i have in mind is:

1. dropping in a seymore duncan quarter pound pick up

2. changing the bridge....unless i could raise the string height so everytime i hit a note the string doesn't bang against the frets (which i can probobly do)

3. upgrade the machine heads

4. red pearloid pickguard.

Is all possible to do fairly easily?

Thanks, Jimmy310

2. Pearly Gator

Pearly Gator

Dec 10, 2005
    SoCal
    Jimmy,

You did not mention your style of music, amp or what tone you are looking for (punk, oldies, etc.) but I'll take a shot at your Q as I own an identical bass.

A good setup and strings is the first thing to do. The tuners work fine so save some money by not swapping them out. Get the wiring replaced with good wire, capacitor, pots IF the pots are the small dime sized ones. The quarter sized pots are fine. Replace the jack and pickguard.

To see if a new bridge will help, get a "C" clamp or small pair of vice grips and clamp it to the bridge somewhere. If the extra mass helps the low E string, get a BADASS II bridge installed.

Replace the stock ceramic magnet pickup with a better unit. I scored a "designed by EMG" Johnson P bass pickup from Melody Music on Ebay (no affilliation) for $10. It was a big improvement in tone. The bass cost me $75 and the improvements another $40. It's a nice bass.

Good luck on your quest,

Pearly Gator

3. Sippy

Sippy

Aug 1, 2005