Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Modes of the Major Scale

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by SpecialEd, Nov 2, 2002.

1. What are the different modes of the major scale and what degree of the scale do they start on. I have some theory background, but not in this area, so i am starting from strach in this area.

2. moley

moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
    Ionian = starts on tonic = ordinary major scale
    Dorian = starts on 2nd
    Phyrgian = starts on 3rd
    Lydian = starts on 4th
    Mixolydian = starts on 5th
    Aeolian = starts on 6th
    Locrian = starts on 7th

3. Aaron

Aaron

Jun 2, 2001
    Bellingham, WA
    i think it is best to learn them in this order:

Lydian
    Ionian
    Mixolydian
    Dorian
    Aeolian
    Phyrgian
    Locrian

You flat one note each time going down.

4. Gard

Gard Commercial User

Mar 31, 2000
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    General Manager, Roscoe Guitars
    Once you know the modes like moley suggested, this is good to know because it's how you would actually apply the modes musically.

But, from the ground up I highly recommend learning them in the sequential order. It just makes getting them in your brain more straightforward.

5. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification
    Could not agree more! This is the way lots of music schools teach them, and I think, especially for someone just beginning to explore the sounds of the modes, this method emphasizes sound rather than its relationship to the parent major scale.

YMMV, as Gard shows... :)

6. Gard

Gard Commercial User

Mar 31, 2000
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    ...actually, I almost agree with PoT and Pac -