Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Modes

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by RoMeRz, Mar 2, 2006.

1. RoMeRz

RoMeRz

Feb 13, 2006
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Been playing for a good 6 years now. Completely self taught, been meaning to get round to learning "music", and now that Ive finished Uni and dont have a job yet, I have a bit of time.

Im just starting out - so sorry if i repeat things or contradtic myself.

Scales - I understand how a scale is made, and how to figure scales, and from them - how to construct chords. What are modes exactly ?

I know from a major scale you get your natural minor by changing a few things from whole notes to half notes etc and that kind of thing - are modes just the other versions of a scale from the major scale or what ?

A simplified answer would be excellent - as I said im still learning so sorry if im a bit of a dum dum.

2. Jazzin'

Jazzin' ...Bluesin' and Funkin'

Ok, here's the simplest answer I can give you. A mode is created by taking the a scale and choosing which scale degree to start at and going up all 7 degrees from that point.
    For example: if you take the C major scale and start on the 5th scale degree...you get G mixolydian ( G A B C D E F ).

3. RoMeRz

RoMeRz

Feb 13, 2006
    Glasgow, Scotland
    could you give me an example of the other ones too please, so I can compare with that ?

4. Jazzin'

Jazzin' ...Bluesin' and Funkin'

For Cmaj scale:

Ionian is if you start on the 1st of a major scale. CDEFGAB
    Dorian is if you start on the second note. DEFGABC
    Phrygian is if you start on of the 3rd. EFGABCD
    Lydian is if you start on the 4th. FGABCDE
    Mixolydian is if you start on the 5th. GABCDEF
    Aeolian is if you start on the 6th. ABCDEFG
    Locrian is if you start on the 7th. BCDEFGA

The most common ones are the Ionian, the Mixolydian, then Dorian and the Aeolian.

5. RoMeRz