Modifications - A good thing or a bad thing?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by rogerbmiller, Aug 24, 2004.

1. rogerbmiller

rogerbmiller Gold Supporting Member

Sep 16, 2003
    It used to be back in the day that modifications actually increased the value of a bass. For example, all things equal, a fender J with EMG pickups and a badass bridge got more that a stock fender because it was a better overall instrument. To use a cliche, the whole bas was worth more than the sum of its parts.

It seems that these days in our ebay culture of "pop-antiquing" that mods are bad, no matter how much better they make the bass. I am wondering what everyone's opinion is on this topic. I started playing bass in an age where mods were good if they improved the instrument. It seems that today they are shunned upon because they ruin the resale value. :rollno:

Let me know your experiences and what you think. One of the best basses I ever played was an 80's Cort p-bass copy with Seymour Duncan replacements (the kind that had the tiny eq switches on the PU itself). That bass was easily worth more than the sum of its parts.

2. well, i think you sholdn't mod an expensive vintage bass, like a 1975 fender jazz, because for me, i like that vintage fender sound. as for newer basses, i think it is alright to mod your bass.
  3. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    My fretted bass is thus:

Samick P-bass copy.
    Leo Quann Badass II Bridge
    Seymour Duncan Hot for Precision and Hot for Jazz pickups
    Aguilar OBP-3 Onboard Preamp (18v)

My fretless is:
    Yamaha BB4F
    Will be:
    Yamaha BB4F with Basslines Steve Bailey Fundamental Fretless system.

Screw resale value. The Yammy ain't ever going to be a vintage, so it'll sell for more -- same for the Sammy.
  4. 4string4ever

4string4ever Guest

Apr 18, 2004
    Orlando, Florida