Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Modulus Genesis 5, but not using Barts

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by rojo412, Jul 7, 2005.

1. rojo412

rojo412 MARK IT ZERO! Supporting Member

Feb 26, 2000
    Cleveland, OH.
    Has anyone ever tried to switch the pickups/preamp in a Modulus Genesis 5 to something else? I know they offer Villex, but that's a bit new to me.

Basically, I'm wondering what options one might have if they were to buy one of these basses, but want to use something other than Bartolini.
    And if anyone has one of these with different pickups, what do you think?

I am a newly found J fan, a graphite fan since I started playing (but took until '00 to afford it), and just your average "GASing for the ultimate bass" guy, so this seems to be a logical step for me. Oh, and I hate Barts and love projects.

2. Rodent

Rodent Supporting Member Commercial User

Dec 20, 2004
    Upper Left Corner (Seattle)
    Player-Builder-Founder: Regenerate Guitar Works
    I have an upcoming project to replace the stock pre-amp and p/u's on a Genesis 5 as such:

* pre-amp = John East U Retro, 18v

* p/u's = still TBD Nordstrands

The current schedule for this is sometime in mid-August, pending arrival of the U Retro.

R

3. schmittuml

schmittuml Supporting Member

Oct 25, 2004
    Lowell, MA
    I play a Modulus flea 5 that the previous owner, msquared, switched out the pups and put in a nordstradn MM5.2 sweet spot and it definitely made it a more full sound compared to the stock pups for a flea bass....i'd look into nordstrand.

4. rojo412

Feb 26, 2000
    Cleveland, OH.
    That is about exactly what I'd want to do. I definitely want to know how that sounds.