Moments when everything just clicks together musically.

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Jay, Mar 26, 2001.

1. Jay

Oct 19, 2000
    Bidwell, OH
    Alright, I got to thinkin' 'bout those special moments where everything just clicks together musically and you get that inspirational feeling running though you and your second body...the bass. Ya'll tell about your favorite moments like this.

Mine would be last Sunday in church (Southern church, no boring preaching here!) and we were playing some pretty fast, upbeat, Southern Gospel/bluesy stuff and the pastor/keyboardist yelled at me to crank it. As I could not crank, I started playing as hard and heavy as I could. Boy, the look on everyone's faces is worth a lifetime. The drummer gave me the most wide-eyed face when I started goin' all out and just layin' down some serious fast grooveness. Of course, him being a drummer, he always has that look, but anywhoo.... It was magical, people just went crazy for it and started dancing around and shouting stuff. I got smiles and claps and whoops and hollers from the congregation even during the song. Wonderful. :D
  2. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

That happens sometimes at my church when the assistant pastor gets out the saxaphone for some jazzed up hymns and we really get going. He will look over at me, and next thing I know I am playing stuff that is normally beyond my abilities, and then he takes it to another level, and then the pastor(our pianist) will just go wild.

Man, people just start dancing and shouting, singing, what a time!
  3. I must've been going to the wrong church!
  4. embellisher, can I get tickets at Ticketmaster? Sounds like a lot of fun. Any chance you and your swinging pastors might stop by Vancouver, BC on your next tour? :)
  5. Jay

Oct 19, 2000
    Bidwell, OH
    Woohoo!!!! I'm coming to visit ya'll's church! I wish we had a sax player...sigh....oh well. :(
  6. Huna Funk