1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Mono Vs. Stereo? What's the real deal?

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by armyadarkness, Sep 17, 2018.

Tags:
  1. I've always run stereo, because I thought it was the best... But I carried that mentality over from my "home stereo" way of thinking, and now I wonder if it's actually hurting me.

My PA is 3 Crown 2500 Power Amps (mains, monitors, subs), an X32 Mixer, and DBX Driverack PA2 loudspeaker management system. The mains are Yamaha BR15 2-ways, running at 8ohms, and subs are JBL 18's running at 8ohms. I've been using this for about 4 years now.

Here's my issue... I often have to push the vocals beyond unity gain in order to be heard, and I feel like I really shouldn't have to with all of this power. My gain structures are set well, and yes, I know that at 8ohms I'm not getting full power from the amps, but I can't believe I have to turn up so much to hear the vocals.

I keep telling my guitar player that I want to by three way speaker cabs (2x15 with horns) so that I can drop down to 4ohms and get more speakers and power, but he insists that it won't help, and while he has no practical experience, he does have a degree in sound reinforcement.

While grappling with this issue, I can recall the old days, when switching the home stereo to mono, it seemed much louder... So is my issue just that I'm not using mono?

BTW... we do not pan, and the only "stereo" thing in the PA is the MP3 player.

Thanks for your thoughts. Anyone with Driverack exp., I'm especially interested to hear your experience.
    20180420_182102.jpg

Spidey2112 and mobdirt like this.
  2. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    Chillin' n Grillin' on the Best Coast
    Song Surgeon slow downer.
    Maybe running mono would give you more headroom.