Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Moog Tone

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by kevinevinevin, Aug 22, 2005.

1. kevinevinevin

kevinevinevin

Aug 22, 2005
    I am kind of new to effects. Does anybody know what effect or effects can replicate the kind of tone that people associate with the moog sound.

2. kevinevinevin

kevinevinevin

Aug 22, 2005
    thanks niftydog, but I don't really understand the sounds that the moogerfooger makes. i am looking for a sound like that of flashlight by p-funk and a lot of stevie wonder stuff. its kind of buzzy and saw-like. ithink i heard it once called a mwa sound.

sorry if i don't make any sense

3. hmmm, you could be talking about a clav which is an entirely different beast.

I don't really know of any convincing clav tone reproduction pedals. Maybe the deep impact, but I really don't know as I've never futzed with one.

4. kevinevinevin

kevinevinevin

Aug 22, 2005
    i couldn't find what you were talking about. that's probably my fault. i guess the tone is somewhat organ like. i hope you know what i mean.

if that does not help can someone just simply tell me what type of sounds the moogerfooger can make.

thanks

5. clavinet sound samples galore

and that link I posted earlier has moogerfooger samples for some of the gear. I recommend listening to the MuRF first.

6. kevinevinevin

kevinevinevin

Aug 22, 2005
    wow, that clavinet is the sound that i was thinking of all along. i could not find any information on that deep impact pedal. maybe there is an alternative.

7. search these forums and you'll find the deep impact (made by akai) is a highly sought after synth bass pedal no longer in production.

alternatives include the boss bass synthesiser SYB-5, the electro-harmonix bass microsynthesiser & digitech bass synth wah.