Moral obligation?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Bass of Spades, Oct 28, 2005.

1. Bass of Spades

Bass of Spades

Oct 20, 2002
    Hey, I've got a question for y'all.

If you're in an originals band getting ready for the release of your first CD and touring soon after, is it alright to jam with other people?

Part of me thinks that there's no problem with it, it's my skill and I can do what I want with it. But I also see how it would be wrong, almost like cheating on my band.

An originals band is really alot like a relationship. You put alot into it, it can't work without you and vice-versa and so there should be a certain level of loyalty.

As you could guess, I'm in this position. I know I should talk to the band about it, but if it's an obvious "no you shouldn't do that", then I don't really want to ask.

I know I'm probably making alot out of nothing, but yeah. I'm still new to all of this.

2. arbitrary

arbitrary Supporting Member

Oct 24, 2005
    Boston, MA
    I think its fine to play with as many people as humanly possible, as long as you don't screw anyone over, and have your priorities.
  3. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    There is a certain element out there that thinks that jamming with anyone is good. There's also a certain element out there that feels that jamming with others is completely wrong and exactly like cheating on your wife. David Lee Roth and James Hetfield are two such people. Those people who feel that way are jerkoffs.