more advice please...

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by oliebrice, Oct 20, 2003.

1. oliebrice

Apr 7, 2003
    London, UK
    I know people on this site keep saying brand names aren't important,but I need all the help I can get trying to decide between 2 basses. I've been playing bass for about 6 months, but have since had a break of a couple of months while travelling, so its hard to judge my limited playing ability and knowledge.

One of the basses says inside Zeller - Romania Stentor Music Pro. It has a solid top and a back made of 4 peices. Does this affect aging? It'll cost me £750, feels good to play and sounds fine. I don't think it's really special, but I can't afford something really special.
    The other one says Musikinstrumentenfabrik
    Reghin ROMANIA
    It costs £900 and has a solid front and back. It has quite old orchestral strings on it which makes it hard to judge the sound (I play jazz and blues), but it sounds darker to me. It feels a bit harder to play,. but I could imagine falling in love with it over time, especially with different strings on it. I know that its been set up a few months ago by a good luthier. The bloke selling it says its abput 40 years old.

Thats about all I know - any advice?
  2. Oliebrice, since you've been around TB for a few months, this advice probably won't surprise you. With a little playing experience, sometimes you can trust your gut feelings and musical instincts. In your situation, without what sounds to me to be very little of the above, I, like probably everyone on this site, think you should seek out a teacher or professioal player, or a luthier.