Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

more bass!

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by shanmag, Aug 8, 2005.

1. shanmag

shanmag

Jul 27, 2005
    Hey
    sorry if this is in the wrong section, feel free to move it if it is!

anyway, im just wondering if there is anything that can, make the bass stand out more in songs i guess?? i know u can adjust the EQ settings for my speakers but i want it to stand out alot more that what i can get it to do with adjusting the EQ settings!

im only a beginner and am finding it difficult to hear what the bass is playing in some parts of the song!

there is probably no such thing and im making it up, but its worth a try! Thanx! :bassist:

2. BBMS

BBMS

Jun 29, 2005
    I have a student who plays in a high school band. She started with a 60W amp, and couldn't be heard in a 100+ member band with drum line (inside sometimes - ouch!). Now I have her playing a Carvin BRX212 and a 4 x 12 Trace Elliot bass cabinet. I'm guessing the amp is pushing 600+, and she can not only be heard, but felt. Great lows. MY

3. shanmag

shanmag

Jul 27, 2005
    ohh sorry dude! i didnt really word the question quite that well!!

i ment more along the lines of something that can boost the bass in songs im trying to learn so i can hear the bass line perfectly without getting covered by the guitar or drums??

4. if your trying to do it in others songs.... like your trying to learn a blink-182 bassline all you can really do is pump up the EQ.... if your trying to do it to your own songs add a bunch of mids.

5. shanmag

shanmag

Jul 27, 2005
    im trying to learn other songs!

ive tried doing the EQ thingy but it doesnt help that much... a little bit but not as much as i was hoping!

I downloaded "Transcriber!" and played aroung with the EQ on that by putting the bass up just made extremely hard to hear anything.... it was super quiet!