more questions

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Wesley, Sep 18, 2001.

1. Wesley

Sep 17, 2001
    I have a few more questions regarding bass setup and maintenance. I'm new to the instrument (8 months) and am trying to learn as much about it as possible.
    1) My soundpost looks crooked to me. I am just eyeballing it through the F holes and it looks like it is leaning towards the center of the bass. Is there a way of determining if it really is leaning? (It all could be in my imagination!) and if it is tilted is there a risk that it will fall out of place and damage my bass?

2) When I am not playing my bass should I store it in its case (softshell moridian)? I brought one of my guitars into a luthiur and he was surprised to see that it was dried out at this time of the year (Sept). I guess my house is really dry - all year round - and sometimes I have a pretty stong draft passing through my room. The Luthier suggested I store my guitar in its softshell case - would this apply to my double bass as well?

3) Is it a good idea to ever tug on strings to release some of the stiffness? I find sometimes it makes the strings less tense and more playable. One bass player told me specifically not to do this though I have seen this done to double basses.

Thanks for your help

2. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    Hi, welcome to Talkbass.

1) Reedo & Don are the guys to field this one.