1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

More Rare Than I Thought?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Peeks, May 16, 2019.

1. Peeks

Peeks

May 16, 2019
    First off, I’d like to start this out by saying I’m new here, so hello everyone! And also by saying I’m new to the bass community all together. I’m a huge gearhead (have always been. I played guitar for many years and am now stepping into the bass world).
    I acquired a Squier Jazz Bass for an Epiphone Wildkat last fall, played the piss out that, won a contest, and used that money to upgrade my bass. I went to my local music store and decided what to buy. I had $2000, so nothing was truly out of question. The store is a Fender dealer, so I saw mainly Jazz and Percision Basses with a couple Jaguars mixed in... LOTS of MIMs... then the American Professionals and high end models... and then, I saw The One... hanging in the corner among the Americans, was a candy apple red Jazz Bass with block inlays, painted headstock, pickup and bridge covers... I grabbed it off the wall out and looked at the tag. ‘Used Fender Special Edition Jazz Bass - Hard Case Included - All Original Case Candy - $1449.99’. It had some dings and scratches around the edges, but nothing serious. I flip it over to check out the back. Engraved right on the neck plate: “50th Anniversary”.
    I didn’t even plug it in (kind of stupid, but oh well!) and brought it over to the counter and purchased it.
    Once I got it home, I dug into the case candy and the first thing I read was the pamphlet describing the model, the 50th Anniversary Jazz Bass. I knew what I had just bought was limited edition and ‘rare’ since I was unable to come across any others for sale online, but just HOW rare is this bass? And what’s its worth nowadays?
    1BD17E0C-65B1-4FED-A075-2D970EA9F1BA.jpeg

2. I don't know what it's worth, but it's nice!