Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

More voltage=more headroom???

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by E.J. T.N.T., Mar 9, 2006.

1. I have been playing a really nice ibanez SRX705 for like 3 years and i'm really pleased with it.Anyway i have been thinking of upgrading a couple of components on it(tuning keys,pickups,etc)So i've been talking about it with a fellow bassist and told me that a good mod would be running the preamp 18-volts(the stock SRX's preamp,the eqbII-DX,is 2-band preamp with a volume and a balancer pot and normally operates on 9volts).He said that the extra voltage would provide with extra headroom and when i asked whether raising the voltage would fry the preamp,he said it was safe becouse i would wire the second battery parallel(doesn't that mean that there will be no voltage increase?:meh: )So my question is:Is this mod safe and will it it have the results stated above?

2. seanm

seanm I'd kill for a Nobel Peace Prize! Supporting Member

Feb 19, 2004
    Ottawa, Canada
    Putting the batteries in parrallel would *not* increase the voltage. It would mean a longer time between battery changes.

It would only help headroom if the preamp was starved for current. I doubt that is the case.

And to answer your original question: more voltage = more headroom. BUT, and there is always a BUT, many onboard bass preamps run at very little or no gain. They are there to give you active tone controls and lower output impedance. So depending on the preamp, that extra headroom is probably just wasted since 9V is signicantly higher than the possible output of the pickups.

The 18V preamps you see where either designed for 18V and make use of it or marketing hype.

3. Mrdak

Mrdak uber bass geek baby!

Feb 1, 2006
    Middle GA