1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
  2. Welcome Back!  Please see this thread for more info about the site outage.  Thank you for your patience as we work out bugs and tweak server configs.

Most Disappointing Experience (Amps)

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by dcbassist5, Feb 27, 2021.

1. dcbassist5

dcbassist5 Supporting Member

May 11, 2011
    Baltimore, MD
    Endorsing Artist: Ashdown, Lakland
    I want to start by saying that this thread is NOT intended to poopie on gear!! I’m just curious to see what others experiences are.

My story...I have been playing professionally for about 30 years. In that time I’ve played a LOT of gear. I have my preferences but I recently had a MAJOR let down. I’d like to hear about yours and/or some disagreements that may make me think twice.

So...I’m all my years of playing I never had the experience of playing an Aguilar DB750. The price tag and lack of availability to try out this amp locally or really anywhere always bugged me...particularly because Chris Chaney (who is a beast IMO) has used one for a while. During Covid my band had the opportunity to do a live stream with full production and touring grade equipment. I pretty much had my pick of gear. When I heard that a DB750 and Aguilar cabs were on the list I seized the opportunity and used the head with (2) 212 cabs. I was stoked! I showed up with my Spector Basses and had high hopes. When I plugged in to soundcheck and setup I had about 60 mins to tweak and play. I was SO disappointed that I just couldn’t get this rig to sound good no matter what I tried. In the end I just played the show with the best settings I could get but to this day I am just bewildered that I couldn’t dial up anything exciting or even acceptable IMO.

anyone have a similar experience with an amp? Anyone use the DB750 and love it?

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 28, 2021