Most "Interesting" Nylon/Tapewound strings?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by HazyMan, Oct 16, 2018.

1. HazyMan

HazyMan

Feb 21, 2018
    I'm a metal bassist and my current favourite strings are Elixir coated strings. However, i want to experiment with other strings, especially considering that i'm really interested in some sort of metal-jazz fusion stuff (death's "human" and "individual thought patterns" albums for example, despite the fact that my bass is fretted and NOT fretless) so i'd like to give them a try. However, there are many tapes. Regular tapes that come in different brands, la bella's white tapes, gold white tapes and copper white tapes. Which ones are the most interesting? Or atleast the least mellow sounding?

2. GIBrat51

GIBrat51 Innocent as the day is long Suspended Supporting Member

I would say that tape wound strings run from La Bella White Tapes (brightest) to Rotosound Tru Bass 88 Tapes (the darkest). All the others are somewhere in between. I prefer the Roto 88s, myself. However, there's a Tapewound Club here which might give you some useful guidance. And, while I don't like to tell people to use the "Search" function, you're asking a question that's been asked more than once. Doing some "Search"ing might be more help than I can give you...:thumbsup:

3. jd56hawk

jd56hawk

Sep 12, 2011
    The Garden State
    GHS black nylon tapewounds.
    I've tried all plenty of tapewounds but none of them can touch these things.
    Of course, GHS discontinued them over a year ago!
    I put a set on my L2000 when I bought it last September and would've bought every set I could get my hands on had I known they were going to be discontinued.
    Took me a year to find another set, from Prussia Valley Dulcimer, of all places.
    Last set they had!
    Supposedly they've just been reissued (saw this in a recent thread) but I've yet to see them on any site.

4. Black Nylon Tapewound

wschenk and jd56hawk like this.
  5. jd56hawk

jd56hawk