1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Most "pure" 5/6 bass you have experienced?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Chasarms, Sep 27, 2010.

1. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Saint Louis, MO USA
    This is probably a re-hash to some degree, but I did browse and search a bit and did not get at this topic especially.

I recently started playing a Dingwall Afterburner II, and after some time with it, I can't help with being impressed with how "pure" the tone of the instrument is on the B string and across all strings. That is, to greatest degree I have experienced, EVERY NUANCE of the tone including the attack, the texture, color, etc. matches more perfectly with the tone of the other strings than any other bass I have ever played.

Other basses that I have owned, like Sadowsky, Modulus and Roscoe, had this trait as well to some degree, but this bass is obviously superior to them all, to my ear, in this regard.

So, I am curious as to others' experiences with this. What other basses have you enjoyed that have the least obvious "disconnect" in the tone across the strings?

To borrow a line from an old Modulus review, which bass sounds like "one big string" no matter where you are on the neck?

2. Infidelity

Infidelity Supporting Member

Jan 14, 2010
    Melbourne, FL
    Since I have never tried a 5'ver dingwall.. My vote goes to Sadowsky for now and IME Lakland's is too tight, EBMM's is kinda floppy and Fenders is floppy..

3. I have yet to try a Dingwall or fanned frets, although I have a fanned fret acoustic 7 string guitar on order.....