1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

most stingray sounding pup for an OLP MM2?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by ghostjs, Sep 27, 2009.

1. ghostjs

ghostjs

Aug 14, 2008
    ghostjs
    Unofficially Endorsing: D'Addario, Lakland
    no sarcasm please! im looking at Seymour Duncans but im open to anything of that is in that price range. i also dig the open poles a bunch

2. meatwad

meatwad

Apr 9, 2008
    Smallville, USA
    I hear SD Basslines capture the StingRay's bright tone nicely, while Bartolinis stray into mudsville... I have no experience with aftermarket MM pups, or desire to swap the stock one in my SR. Just repeating what I've heard. ;)

SD also has an active preamp, which you will need to go all the way.

3. why don't you try to find a stock MM pup to put in?

4. ghostjs

ghostjs

Aug 14, 2008
    ghostjs
    olp mm2 are passive basses and its hard to find an original pup

5. chuckocaster

chuckocaster

Apr 27, 2005
    manteca, ca