motivation for quitting?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by fleawanabee, May 7, 2002.

1. fleawanabee

fleawanabee Guest

Mar 26, 2002
    Orlando, Florida
    I love listening to my role models.... Flea, Claypool, Stu Hamm, and more but sometimes, more often than not they really discourage me. I have no natural talent in music and i have been playing for almost 3 years and i still suck. I have to work really hard at everything I do on my bass. Its not that I want pity I just want to know if anybody else gets discouraged this bad, I mean sometimes i want to not even bother. Do you guys get discouraged by listening to people that are that good? Because it really gets me down.
  2. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
    you don't need motivation for quitting. quitting is easy. everybody has been frustrated enough to want to toss it before. take a step back and examine honestly what you want out of bass, and pursue it. but be honest with yourself. you may find that the things that frustrate you the most you really don't want, deep down, anyway.
  3. Hategear

Hategear Workin' hard at hardly workin'.

Apr 6, 2001
    Appleton, Swissconsin
    Dude, don't give up just because you don't sound like Flea, Stu Hamm or Les Claypool. You can be a good bassist and not sound like Les Claypool and you can be a great bassist and not sound like Stu Hamm. You can be a good bassist and not play like Stu or Les (I consider myself to be a pretty good bassist, but some of the stuff Flea does with his bass makes me say, "No way in hell could I ever do that!"). I get discouraged sometimes too -- there's a guy that I work with that can play faster than I have ever been able to play. Sometimes I think about how much better he is than I am and then I tell myself, "Wait a minute, he's not better than me, he's just different."