Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

motivation?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by HumanClay, Mar 14, 2006.

1. HumanClay

HumanClay

Dec 19, 2005
    Australia
    hey, (i wasnt sure where to post this, so i just put it here) i have been playing for a few years and am hoping to go to uni with bass, however over the last couple of weeks i have lost the motivation to practice... im really not sure why, i just dont seem to want to do it. So my question to you is, how can i get motivated again? ...

thanks heaps for you help

note: im from australia, and so we go to uni, i think for the people in america it is called college? not sure. Anyway, its the one after high school.

2. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Dec 13, 1999
    NYC
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.
    Gee, I don't think I've ever heard of unmotivated teenagers before.

All kidding aside, when you say "practice", what are you talking about exactly? Are you currently working with a a teacher?

3. HumanClay

HumanClay

Dec 19, 2005
    Australia
    thanks for replying.
    yes i have a teacher at the moment, by practice i mean like
    2-3 hours a day. I know this sounds a bit strange for a school student to do, but seriously i have been doing it for about a year now, everyday. I run trough, scales, exercises, simandl i play alot of... that sort of stuff. just reciantly though i seem to have lost 'passion?' not sure if thats the right word to use.

4. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Dec 13, 1999
    NYC
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.